top of page

Now I know why they call it a 'deadline'.

It's two in the morning and I have just submitted my most recent offering, 'Red Skye Sunset', for publication. Although I feel more dead than alive at this time of the morning, it has been worth it. I think the book will be a worthy successor to 'Past the Town of Tribulation & Straight on to Derring Do', featuring further exploits of the not-so-famous-five: Megan, Grandma, Boat Boy Bob, Billy O, and of course, Dotty, a very special Bengal cat. As well as some of the old favourites, such as, 'wet by name and wet by nature' P.C.Raines, there are a few newcomers. Rat Boat Ryan and Blender show us the effects that bullies have on everyone around them. As a head teacher for the last eighteen years of my career, I saw, first hand, how bullies operated and hope that my book will help all children to appreciate that good things happen when you allow them to, especially when decent people get involved.

To quote Grandma, “Kindness,” she said, “that is the most important thing.”


I was determined to finish the latest children's book for several reasons: One is that I have been invited to the Forest Authors' Festival on 28th and 29th October and I've included the splendid cover design, by Rebecca Jackson of Feathertree, on the new display banner. Another reason is that several 'young 'uns', as well as a couple of not so young 'uns, have pestered me for the sequel and I promised to try very hard to complete it for half-term. It should be available by 28th, but I will post on this page and on my Facebook pages when it goes 'live'

Some of you will be aware that many of the events in the stories are based on things that have happened to me, and as the sailing season is more or less over until spring, there will be a pause in the proceedings while I gather more material.

During that time, I will continue to work on my 'grown up' books, so watch this space.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page