top of page

Small but perfectly formatted


As I listened to the radio yesterday, I was heartened by an interview with a software designer, who is one of Europe's leading games developers. Helped by the strong dollar, he explained how he is selling his products in an ever-expanding, worldwide market. It occurred to me that there are many 'invisible' exporters in the UK, who will continue to do well in a post-Brexit Britain.

Last week I was invited to participate in the Forest Authors' Festival and spent two very successful days with my pop-up bookshop, being filmed by Creates Magazine, interviewed by the press and generally networking. At the end of the final day, I was invited to take part in a 'Small Business Saturday' event, being hosted by the Market and Coastal Towns Initiative in December. I was about to decline on the grounds that I am not a small business, when I realised that all authors are.

  • We make our own product

  • We promote it

  • We keep accounts and make tax returns

As if to reinforce this view, I examined my website hits and my royalty statements, and both confirmed interest from France, Germany, New Zealand, U.S. and Canada. There was even one sale in India.

As I look down the valley from my garret at the top of Orme Towers, the world is suddenly on the doorstep.

Long may it continue.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page