top of page

Virtual reality or unreality? Facebook vs Twitter

I must confess to a new addiction: Twitter. After years of not quite ‘getting it’, I have now fully embraced this form of social media. There are many differences between Facebook and Twitter, and here I give my take on some of them, plus a few tips on getting the most out of my new favourite. Past and Present: Facebook generally acts as a scrapbook of life events that have already happened; Twitter is of the moment. If you want news before it hits TV or radio, go to Twitter and watch it evolve. Okay, there is always fake news, but you learn to spot that and take it for what it is. Entertainment value: Facebook takes itself fairly seriously. I remember seeing a post last year, which said , “May your life be as perfect as you tell everyone it is on Facebook’. On the other hand, through its anonymity, Twitter, allows a certain degree of tongue-in-the-cheek anarchy. Accounts such as @GuidoFawkes and @Number10cat provide high quality, political commentary and satire. Unlimited vs 140 characters: The most frightening word on a Facebook post is ‘more’. You know you shouldn’t click it, but how can you resist the urge to display another twenty-five lines of someone’s political rant or personal angst? Go to Twitter and you are currently limited to 140 characters, meaning that posts are sleek and focused. Making the most of Twitter: Many people pay to advertise on Twitter, but I find that a DIY approach to promotion is far more successful. In two weeks, my followers increased from thirty-five to two hundred, without trying too hard. Each new follower is a potential customer and, even if they do not buy a book, they spread the word through retweeting and liking posts. I am not an expert, but my main tips are: Tweet little and often. Posts can range from a full blown tweet, to liking what one of your followers has posted and sometimes commenting on it. The other side of the coin is that I often have to limit the amount of time I spend on it. This is very necessary when writer’s block takes possession of my brain, and I look for a little light entertainment. Look at trends for that day and use the hashtag to join the game. As my account is @TheSaltySeaCat, other spoof cats (and real ones) post regularly throughout the week, with hashtags such as #KittyloafMonday, #TunaTuesday, #WhiskersWednesday and so on. Current topics, such as Bonfire Night, also attract a lot of attention. I have a bank of photographs at the ready, so that an appropriate image can be attached to the post. Tweets with images seem to be more successful for me. Create a persona. Dotty the Salty Sea Cat is one of the Fearless Five, and a constant in each of my children’s books. When I tweet, I do so in role, bearing in mind that the account might be read by children. She has her own TV station: Dotty’s 'Broadcatting' Corporation, through which she makes Public Service Announcements on issues such as keeping pets safe on Bonfire Night.

Be selective. Ditch any trolls who take an interest in you and do not make political comments, no matter how tempted you are! By doing so, you risk losing several of your potential followers who might take a different viewpoint on a political issue. You will find large accounts ‘unfollow’ more frequently than smaller ones. Don’t be surprised if your number of followers goes down. You can easily check who has left your gang through free apps, such as www.who.unfollowed.me … and most of all, have fun! At Hallowe’en, I agreed to have my virtual cat picked up from the deck of our boat by a dragon. Several cats came on board the Fiona and had fish starters, before completing the journey to a fancy dress party, somewhere in the ether.

What larks!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page